The Aryabhata Award, which is named after the fifth century Indian Astronomer and Mathematician and also in commemoration of the first Indian Satellite, Aryabhata, launched on April 19, 1975, is presented annually to an individual for outstanding lifetime contribution to the promotion of astronautics in India. The award consists of a citation and Rs. 1,00,000/- in cash. The ASI Awards are also presented annually to individuals in recognition of their significant contributions made in India in the fields of 

ASI Awards
(a) Rocket and related technologies
(b) Spacecraft and related technologies
(c) Space Sciences and space applications and 
(d) Space systems management. Each of the ASI Awards consists of a citation and Rs. 25,000/- in cash.

ISRO - ASI Awards
a. Rocket and related Technologies
b. Spacecraft and related technologies
c. Space Science and Space Applications
d. Space Systems Management
Above award consists of a citation and Rs.25,000/- in cash

ISRO - ASI Best Women Scientist Award
Consists of a citation and Rs. 25,000/- in cash

ISRO - ASI Young Scientist Award
Consists of a citation and Rs.10,000/- in cash

ISRO - ASI Team Achievement Award
Consists of a citation and Rs.1,00,000/- for each Team shared among the participants.

Any citizen of India, engaged in work related to astronautics, is eligible for the Aryabhata and ASI Awards. There is no age limit. Nominations for the awards can be sent by :

  • Chairman of Space Commission and Atomic Energy Commission, and Directors of R&D Establishments under them.
  • Scientific Advisor to the Defence Minister.
  • Member (Science), Planning Commission.
  • Secretaries of Science & Technologiy Departments of the Governement of India
  • Director General, CSIR and Directors of CSIR Laboratories.
  • Directors of the various R&D Laboratories of Defence Research and Development Organisations
  • Directors of Institutions deemed to be of University status (Science & Engineering Faculties), and 
    Directors of Indian Institutes of Technology and Director, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.
  • Vice Chancellors of Universities.
  • President of approved Science and Engineering Institutions and Academies of all India Character.
  • Honorary Fellows/Fellows of the Astronautical Society of India.
  • Recipents of previous Aryabhata Awards of ASI.

Space Gold Medal for Meritorious Service is presented annually to the personnel of Department of Space and who have made outstanding contributions to the Indian space programme. ASI instituted the award from the year 2000 for which the corpus fund has been contributed by a space scientist. It is the desire of the donor that the interest accrued on the corpus fund is used for awarding four to five gold medals annually.

An Awards Committee constituted by ASI each year for selection of individuals for the awards evaluates all the nominations received. The Committee may consider for the awards, persons, who in their opinion have made outstanding contributions to the development of astronautics, apart from the nominations received.